Random Encounters

So, I was at Panera Bread tonight by myself getting dinner when I met someone I’d never expected to run into.  When the girl at the counter taking my order said she recognized me, I was a little confused.  When she said she thought she’d seen pictures of me, I was weirded out.  When she asked me if I knew–insert name of my first and only ex-boyfriend here–I had one of those OMFG moments that rarely ever happens to me. 

Turns out that she, too used to date my ex, at the same time when I was having a fling with the guy.  (Long story.  If you’re not in the know, please don’t ask.)  But WAIT.  The plot thickens.  As it also happens, there were five of us he was seeing/messing around with/God knows whatever else at the same time.  Four girls, and one guy.  I wasn’t sure whether to be surprised, horrified or sickened.  I knew there was one girl he dated at the time he took me to Prom.  (We went as friends so it wasn’t a big deal.)   I knew there was the girl he was seeing from another state while we were having our fling.  I had ABSOLUTELY NO FUCKING IDEA that there were three other people of varying genders he was with on the side.  

Now, I’m well over this guy.  Have been for awhile now, helped by the fact that I’m dating someone who isn’t screwing around with other people and lying to me about it.  But when I heard about this from a stranger–who it turns out I have a lot in common with–I still felt kind of used, even though this was well over a year ago.  Is that strange?  I mean, I don’t even care anymore, but it still kind of hurt.  Odd.

Anyway, I got the girl’s cell number and we’re going to meet up and hang out.  Apparently there’s a lot I don’t know about this and–sick as it sounds–I want to find out just what I was clueless about for so long.  

In other words, expect updates.
 

One thought on “Random Encounters

Leave a Reply

