100 Drabbles of Summer – 02. Fireworks

02. Fireworks

I can still remember the Fourth of July celebration of five years ago. We picnicked on Paul’s roof and watched the fireworks explode over the lake. I knew the day would come when the enjoyment of the holiday would be lost to me, but I couldn’t admit then how near that day was.

Now, as I use Nick’s arm and my cane to reach my seat, I can’t help feeling some amount of regret.

When the explosions begin, I lean as close to the sound as I can, imagining I can still see the colors lighting up the dark sky.

Tara Foster. Original Character.

Leave a Reply

