100 Drabbles of Summer – 35. Burn

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

35 Burn

At first I felt nothing as I ran through the flames, just the intense heat and the workings of my lungs as they struggled to process smoke-filled air.  It was only when I burst onto the grass outside of the hotel, running hard, that I became aware of the continuing warmth, the flames that still licked my clothes.

I dropped to my knees, rolling over and over on the ground until I had no strength left to move.  Everything around me was pain, throbbing and pulsing and blinding me to all else.

The fire was gone, but the burning remained.

Jason Vilnas.  Original character. 

Leave a Reply

