Book Review #3: Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

My rating:  5 out of 5 stars

I first learned about Sarah Maas’s writing when I started following Let the Word Flow (now Publishing Crawl.) When the first of the novellas that act as a prequel to this story came out, I bought it out of interest. That story completely lured me in, and I proceeded to buy the next three and wait anxiously for this one.

Having read Throne of Glass, I can honestly say that the wait was worthwhile. I started Throne of Glass on Friday before work, and read through every single one of my work breaks. The second my shift was finished, I came home and blew through the rest.

It was one of those books I couldn’t stop thinking about, the kind of story that barely allowed me to get any work done, that stayed on my mind as I was lying in bed obscenely early in the morning trying to fall asleep.

There wasn’t a single character I didn’t want to learn more about, not any piece of those 400+ pages that felt dragging or unnecessary. I wasn’t expecting multiple perspectives, but I found that they enhanced the story in ways I enjoyed. The lack of rhyme or reason to the switches would’ve been annoying or frustrating in the hands of most authors, but Maas crafted such a fascinating cast of individuals–coupled with a plot that MOVED–that I honestly didn’t care.

Since I did read all four novellas, I really appreciated the nods to the events of those stories, as well as the hints of what was to come and what was behind. The best compliment I can offer the novel is that–for all its length–I never found myself bored. The world in Throne of Glass is rich and detailed, and I can’t wait to see what comes next.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review #3: Throne of Glass

  1. I’ve had ToG since last year’s BookExpoAmerica. Just started reading it and didn’t know there were prequels until I did. What exactly are they about?

  2. They basically deal with the MC’s life up until she ends up where the beginning of Throne of Glass starts. They’re definitely worth reading!

    And I am super envious that you were able to go to Book Expo America. 🙂

    • Lol- thanks. It wears on you after about the second day or so, but all the free books make it worth the slog. You should try to make it- are you in the Tri-state Area?

Leave a Reply

