Book Review #4: Such a Rush

Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I haven’t read all that many of Jennifer Echols’ novels, at least not in comparison to other YA authors. I always kind of figured her as a lighthearted romance author, with the occasional story I might pick up and blow through on a bad day.

After finishing “Such a Rush” though, I may be forced to rethink my position. This is a romance, no doubt about it, but there’s so much more at stake here.

Don’t get me wrong–I love a good romance, a good will-they-won’t-they as much as the next person. But from the first page, I was really impressed by how much the setting came into play. I have minimal experience with the south, and even less experience with trailer parks, but the scenario set up in the opening chapter was what made it perfectly believable to me that the MC would turn to flying as an escape.

In fact, Leah was one of the main reasons I loved this book so much. She was tough and she didn’t pander to anyone, but she knew when to back down and be nice, and when to play hardball. It’s always refreshing to find a female protagonist who doesn’t fall exclusively in the ‘tough’ or ‘manipulative’ categories.

The minor characters took a bit more time to grow on me. I started out disliking both boys, and feeling lukewarm about Molly. Kudos to Echols for being able to develop them as characters so that I was rooting for and squealing over all of them by the end.

I’m not into flying, and in all probability a small plane would send me into a panic, but the flying scenes were some of the strongest parts of the book. It’s not only clear that there was a lot of research done, but that Leah’s passion for it and her reasons for feeling that way came through loud and clear.

Once I got into the story, I finished it in no time. A much deserved four stars. Can’t wait to check out some of Jennifer Echol’s other work.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

