Book Review #15: Prodigy

Prodigy by Marie Lu

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Middle book syndrome is a common concern of most authors writing trilogies. No matter how well the first book does, there’s always the fear that the next installment will drag, or over-explain, or lack new development.

Marie Lu’s debut novel “Legend” landed her on the New York Times bestseller list, and if that isn’t a lot to live up to, I don’t know what is. And though my opinion may make me unpopular, I think that “Prodigy” not only avoids middle book syndrome altogether, it’s actually better than “Legend.”

Loads better.

All of the things I loved most about book one were completely amped up in book two. The action was bigger and crazier. I had to actively force myself not to race through certain scenes or chapters, because I wanted to know the details as much as I wanted to know the outcomes. There were a whole bunch of plot twists, ranging from the ‘wow-that’s-so-depressing-I-never-knew’ to ‘oh-my-God-why’ mingled with explanations of shock.

Not to mention the chemistry between Day and June. Anyone else thinking of a certain scene early in the story? I know I am. 🙂

In all seriousness though, the strengths of “Prodigy” as a story all tie back to the changing relationship and interactions between the two leads. Their relationship had so much more conflict this time around, and even physical separation doesn’t lessen the tension between them. Awesome climactic scene aside, I was dying to reach the ending just to find out what would happen to them.

If you loved “Legend,” you’ll love “Prodigy.” And if you were a bit more lukewarm, definitely give it a shot.

Just be prepared to gnash your teeth and wait on pins and needles for the next–and final–book!

View all my other reviews

Leave a Reply

