Book Review #29: Untold

Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I don’t know if it’s the coolest twist of fate or the cruelest that I finished “Untold” the day before Sarah Rees Brennan released the cover, the flap copy, and a sneak peak from “Unmade.” My feelings about the Lynburn Legacy trilogy were already at an all-time high, and getting a preview of the final book only made matters worse. September seems so very far away.

“Untold” picked up not long–a month, I think?–after “Unspoken” left off. The mental connection between Kami and Jared has been severed, and both of them are by turns trying and failing to move on from each other. Meanwhile, the town of Sorry-in-the-Vale and Kami’s team of investigators must decide whether to follow Rob Lynburn and his sorcerers, or find a way to stop them.

I’m not the slightest bit ashamed to say that I DEVOURED this story. There’s a brief reprieve from the next magical confrontation, but the reason for it felt organic and neither the pacing nor the tension let up for an instant. Every continuation of the major character arcs felt believable, and not like tacked on attempts to give everyone a proper ‘purpose.’ Kami finds herself turning to people she wouldn’t have expected as her familiar support systems crumble around her. And Jared? Let’s just say his motivations and rationality were even murkier–and frustrating as it was, I loved it.

Even though the link between them is gone, he and Kami have a hard time forgetting that their bond runs deeper than magic. And I as a reader had a hard time forgetting it too.

There were times when I had to stop and clutch this book to my chest just to take it all in. I waltzed it around my living room singing about how all of my feelings were awful. When I reached the final page, I may have let out a horrified, indignant squawk. And I don’t even care!

If you’re caught upon this series, here’s hoping the final book doesn’t destroy all of us. If you haven’t started it yet and want to, what are you waiting for?

View all my other reviews

Leave a Reply

